Awards – 2016





Logan Medal Dr. Brian Jones, University of Alberta Nomination Form
W.W. Hutchison Medal Dr. Stephen Piercey, Memorial University of Newfoundland Nomination Form
E.R.Ward Neale Medal Dr. Rob Fensome, Geological Survey of Canada (Atlantic) Nomination Form
J. Willis Ambrose Medal Dr. Scott Swinden, Swinden Geoscience Consultants Ltd Nomination Form
Eric Mountjoy Exchange Award Timothy Gibson of McGill University Nomination Form
Yves O. Fortier Earth Science Journalism Award Ivan Semeniuk of The Globe and Mail for articles published in 2015 Nomination Form
CJES Best Paper Award

Luke Ootes of NWT Geological Survey


Distinguished Member Award Nomination
Distinguished Service Award
50-Year Members Edward Procyshyn, Garth Jackson and Donald Sangster
Honorary Life Members
Voluntary Service Award Nomination
Certificate of Appreciation


Mary-Claire Ward Geoscience Award Jordan McDivitt of Laurentian University Nomination Form

Jerome H. Remick Poster Awards


Gold: Justin Emberley
Silver: Jennifer Bentz
Bronze: Jennifer Spalding

Honorable mentions:
Roddy Campbell
Meagan Gilbert
Kathryn Grodzicki
Eliza Lockier


AQUEST (Quebec)
Certificat d’excellente de l’AQUEST First Place:
Canadian Geomorphology Research Group
J. Ross Mackay Award Alberto Reyes, University of Alberta
Olav Slaymaker Awards

Canadian Sedimentology Research Group

Middleton Medal Denis Lavoie, Geological Survey of Canada (Quebec City) Nomination Form
Geophysics Division
The Geophysics Division Student Award
Marine Geosciences Division
Michael J. Keen Medal
Mineral Deposits Division
Duncan R. Derry Medal Dan Kontak, Laurentian University Nomination Form
William Harvey Gross Award Sarah Dare, University of Ottawa Nomination Form
Julian Boldy Certificate Awards

Howard Street Robinson Medal* To be awarded in 2017
Paleontology Division
Elkanah Billings Medal Nomination Form
Pikaia Award Marc Laflamme, University of Toronto-Mississauga Nomination Form
Precambrian Division
Howard Street Robinson Medal** Rebecca Jamieson, Dalhousie University
Canadian Tectonics Group (formerly Structural Geology and Tectonics Division)
Dave Elliott Best Paper Prize Mark Higgins, McGill University
Jack Henderson Prize for Best Thesis – Best PhD Thesis Jessica Shaw, Western Washington University
Jack Henderson Prize for Best Thesis – Best M.Sc. Thesis

Noah Phillips, University of New Brunswick

Volcanology & Igneous Petrology Division
Career Achievement Award Joseph Whalen, Geological Survey of Canada Emeritus Nomination Form
Leopold Gelinas Medal Gold (Best Ph.D Thesis): Jason Coumans, McGill
Silver (Best M.Sc. Thesis): Michael D’Angelo, Lakehead
Bronze (Best B.Sc. Thesis): Samuel Metteer, Lakehead
Nomination Form

2015 Award Winners

Go to Top