Marine Geosciences Division – M.J. Keen Medal

M.J. Keen Medal

The Michael J. Keen Medal is awarded annually by the Marine Geosciences Division of the Geological Association of Canada to a scientist who has made a significant contribution to the field of marine or lacustrine geoscience. Recipients may be a Canadian or a non-Canadian who have made a contribution in Canada or with a distinctively Canadian flavour. The medal will be awarded to a male or female, but in the spirit of equity, will give special, but not exclusive, consideration to the achievements by distinguished or outstanding female scientists.

Recipients of the medal to date are:


2017     John Shaw
2016      not awarded
2015      not awarded
2014      Ali Aksu
2013      not awarded
2012      not awarded
2011      Alfonso Mucci
2010      John Hughes Clarke
2009      Reinhard Hesse
2008      not awarded
2007      C.F.M. (Mike) Lewis
2006      Anne de Vernal
2005      Kathryn Gillis
2004      James T. Teller
2003      William Normark
2002      not awarded
2001      Steven D. Scott
2000      Thomas F. Pedersen
1999      David J.W. Piper      
1998      Larry A. Mayer
1997      A. Grant
1996      Earl E. Davis
1995      John G. Malpas
1994      Lew H. King
1993      Charlotte Keen
1992      P. Robinson

Requirements for all Award Nominations: Each nomination should include a nomination letter signed by the appropriate number of sponsors, a 200-word citation, and the curriculum vitae or biography which describes the candidate’s accomplishments in their field of research. Additional documentation and letters of endorsement are gratefully received. Individual nominations are valid for a period of three years.

Nominations requirement and submission for the MJ Keen Medal:

Nominations for the Michael J. Keen Medal must be made by at least 3 sponsors, 1 of whom must be a member of the Marine Geosciences Division. Nominations must be submitted before 30th December to the Chair of the Division:

Patrick Lajeunesse
2 Centre d’Études Nordiques & Département de Géographie, 
Université Laval, 
2405 Rue de la Terrasse, 
Québec, Québec G1V 0A6, Canada

Telephone: (418) 656 2131 (poste 5879)

Sponsors of the Michael J, Keen Medal
W.T. Collins
D.C. Mosher
B.J. Todd
P. Hill

We sincerely thank sponsors of the Michael J. Keen medal. We believe it is an important part of our division to recognize individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the marine geosciences in Canada. It is only through your support that we can continue in this role.

Sponsorship of the Michael J. Keen Medal assists in the purchase of new medals. Sponsorship is achieved with a donation to the Marine Geoscience Division of the Geological Association of Canada. Please send a cheque to the address above, or contact the chair of the division at the address shown.

Cheques can be made payable to: The Marine Geoscience Division (GAC) – Michael J. Keen Medal

Go to Top