Constitution and By-Laws/Isotope Sciences Division

Article I
1. Name
Isotope Science Division of the Geological Association of Canada.
2. Objectives
(a)to represent and promote the interests of Canadian scientists who are concerned
with the application of Isotopes in the earth and environmental sciences.
(b)to promote and encourage the understanding and application of isotopes in earth
and environmental science by promoting meetings, symposia, field conferences
and short courses.
(c)to encourage the publication of papers relating to all aspects of isotopes,
particularly those for publication in the C.J.E.S and in GAC publications.
(d)to provide a forum for dialogue between isotope practitioners, particularly to
facilitate communication between those active in conventional isotope
applications and those in new or emerging areas of isotope application.

Article II
1. Membership
Members of the Division shall be members in good standing of the Geological
Association of Canada.
2. Application for Membership
Membership is by submission of an annual fee to the Geological Association of Canada.
3. Eligibility to Vote
Only members in good standing are eligible to vote on Division business.

Article III
1. Fees
Annual Division membership fees shall be set from time to time by the Executive
Committee. Student members shall be exempt from annual dues.
There shall be no division initiation fees.

Article IV
1. Officers
The Division will be administered by an Executive Committee. The Executive
Committee will be responsible for the effective functioning of the Division within
the guidelines provided by the Division’s Constitution. The Executive may establish
ad hoc sub-committees from time to time to expedite the business of the Division.
(a)The Executive Committee shall consist of six officers – Chairman, Vice-
Chairman, Secretary, Treasurer, Programme Coordinator and Publications
Coordinator. A quorum of this committee shall comprise two officers.
(b)Chairman – The Chairman shall preside at meetings of the Division.
(c)Vice-Chairman – Vice-Chairman shall have and assume the powers and duties of
the Chairman in the event of the absence or disability of the Chairman.
(d)Secretary – The Secretary shall keep the records of the proceedings of the
Division and shall also act as the Secretary to the Executive Committee and keep
the records of its proceedings. The Secretary shall issue notices of all meetings.
The Secretary shall keep a complete list of members of the Division and their
contact addresses.
(e)Treasurer – The Treasurer shall collect and disburse all funds and shall have the
custody of all funds of the Division. The Treasurer shall deposit such funds in the
name of the Division in a bank or trust company designated by the Executive Committee.
The Treasurer shall report in writing in the Annual Meeting of the Division and the Executive
Committee on receipts and disbursements of funds and other financial transactions since the
previous report and on the balance of money available.
(f) Programme Coordinator – responsible for managing the process of implementing
symposia and special sessions at the annual GAC and other regional meetings.
(g)Publication Coordinator – responsible for the Division’s newsletter, for regular
submission of articles to GEOLOG and for the appointment of editors for special
publications. The Publication Coordinator will have charge of the editing,
printing and distribution of all Division publications.
2. Terms of Office
The Executive Committee will be elected annually by vote of the members of the
3. Nominating Committee
Nominations for election of the Executive Committee will be supervised by a
nominating committee of three members of the Division, and (ex officio) the
Chairman of the Division. The Nominating Committee shall comprise three
members of the Division who are neither office bearers of the Division nor standing
for election and shall be appointed by the Executive Committee.
4. Nomination of Officers
At least sixty (60) days before the Annual Meeting the nominating committee shall
request nominations for all elective offices that will become vacant at the time of the
Annual Meeting. All nominations that have been filed with Secretary at least forty
(40) days before the Annual Meeting shall be sent to members at least twenty five
(25) days before the Annual Meeting. Voting, by mail-in or electronic ballot shall be
supervised by the Nominating Committee and shall be completed by no less than 5
days prior to the Annual Meeting.
5. Meetings
The Annual Meeting of the Division shall be held whenever possible at the GAC
Annual Meeting. Special general meetings may be called at any time by the
Executive Committee or by a written petition signed by a quorum of the members of
the Division.
6. Quorum
A quorum at Annual or Special General Meetings of the Division shall be
whichever is the less of ten members or ten percent of the membership of the

Article V
1. Changes to the Constitution
The Constitution of the Division may be adopted, amended or rescinded only by
voting members. Votes on such constitutional changes shall be carried out by
mailed ballots, and proposed changes shall be approved only if 65% of the ballots
received by the specified date are in agreement. Copies of the proposed amendments
shall be mailed by the Executive Committee with the ballots to the voting members
of the Division not less than 20 days nor more than 40 days before the specified
voting date.
2. Proposals of Amendments
Any quorum of members may, by letters addressed to the Secretary, recommend to
the Executive Committee changes to the constitution, and the Executive Committee
shall carry out a mailed ballot vote on the proposed amendment no later than general
mailing preceding the next annual meeting.

Article VI
The Constitution and By-Laws of the Division shall be consistent with the
Constitution, By-Laws, Rules and regulations of the Geological Association of Canada

Article VII
By-Laws to assist in the governing of the Division may be adopted or modified from
time to time by the Executive Committee. All amendments or additions to the By-laws
shall be subject to ratification by the members of the Division Annual or Special General

Go to Top