Medals & Awards





Logan Medal Anthony E. Williams-Jones, McGill University, Montreal, QC X
W.W. Hutchison Medal Anton Chakhmouradian, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, MB X
E.R.Ward Neale Medal Randall F. Miller, New Brunswick Museum, Saint John, NB X
J. Willis Ambrose Medal Grant Abbott, Yukon Geological Survey, Whitehorse, YK X
YvScience Journalism Awardes O. Fortier Earth Karissa Donkin and Hilary Paige Smith of the Telegraph Journal for their article entitled “Series on Stonehammer Geopark in Southwestern New Brunswick”. X
CJES Best Paper Award Rebecca A. Jamieson, Christopher Beaumont, Clare J. Warren, and Mai H. Nguyen


Distinguished Member Award Not awarded in 2011


Distinguished Service Award Sandra Barr and Karen Johnston


50-Year Members Raymond Yole and Owen White


Honorary Life Members Not awarded in 2011


Voluntary Service Award Not awarded in 2011


Certificate of Appreciation Keith Dewing, Jeff Packard and Shannon Acton


Mary-Claire Ward Geoscience Award Brett Hamilton, University of Calgary X
Jerome H. Remick Poster Awards Gold:Thi Hao Bui, McGill University, Montreal, QC
Silver:Andrew Brennan, McMaster University, Hamilton, ON
Bronze:Jason Hong, University of Alberta, Edmonton, AB

Honourable Mentions:Laura Malone, University of Ottawa, Ottawa, ON; Pater Dao, McMaster University, Hamilton, ON; André Pellerin, McGill University, Montreal, QC; Nik Ganderton, University of Western Ontario, London, ON; Michael McGill, University of Guelph, Guelph, ON


AQUEST (Quebec)
Certificat d’excellente de l’AQUEST First Place: Anouk Lemieux
Second Place: Pamela Tremblay
Second Place: Julia King
Canadian Geomorphology Research Group
J. Ross Mackay Award TBA
Olav Slaymaker Awards TBA
Geophysics Division
The Geophysics Division Student Award TBA
Marine Geosciences Division
Michael J. Keen Medal Not awarded in 2012
Mineral Deposits Division
Duncan R. Derry Medal Dr. Benoît Dubé, Geological Survey of Canada, Quebec X
William Harvey Gross Award Dr. Jacob Hanley, Saint Mary’s University, Halifax, NS X
Julian Boldy Certificate Awards

Dominique Genna, Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, Chicoutimi, QC

Paleontology Division
Elkanah Billings Medal Dr. Graham L. Williams, Geological Survey of Canada (Atlantic) X
Pikaia Award To be awarded in 2012 X
Structural Geology and Tectonics Division
Dave Elliott Best Paper Prize Kyle P. Larson, William J. Davis and Don W. Davis of University of Saskatchewan; and Laurent Godin of Queen’s University
Jack Henderson Prize for Best Thesis – Best PhD Thesis Dawn Anne-Marie Kellett, Dalhousie University
Jack Henderson Prize for the Best Ph.D Thesis Second Prize Christoph Schrank, University of Toronto
Jack Henderson Prize for Best Thesis – Best M.Sc. Thesis Tasca Noela Santimano, McMaster University
Volcanology & Igneous Petrology Division
Career Achievement Award Dr. Georgia Pe-Piper, Saint Mary’s University X
Leopold Gelinas Medal Gold (Best Ph.D Thesis): Jonathan O’Neill, McGill Unviersity, Montreal, QC
Silver (Best M.Sc. Thesis): Russell Rogers, Université du Québec (INRS-ETE), Québec, QC
Bronze (Best B.Sc. Thesis): Steve Flank, Lakehead University, Thunder Bay, ON

Go to Top