Logan Medal

The Logan Medal, the highest award of the Geological Association of Canada is presented, usually annually, to an individual for sustained distinguished achievement in Canadian earth science.

Barbara Sherwood Lollar

The 2018 recipient is: Barbara Sherwood Lollar (University of Toronto). Her short citation reads:

“For her innovative applications of compound-specific stable isotope analysis which have revolutionized geochemistry, notably by establishing the source and fate of anthropogenic organic contaminants in groundwater, and also the presence of abiogenic methane and hydrogen trapped, for more than 1 billion years, in crystalline rocks that are more than 2 km below the surface of the Canadian Shield.”

Citation will be posted following RFG2018 and GAC AGM, being held June 15-17, 2018 in Vancouver, BC

Related Links:

Past Recipients
Nomination Form

Go to Top