E.R.Ward Neale Medal

The Neale Medal, named after the legendary E.R. Ward Neale, is awarded to an individual for sustained outstanding efforts in sharing earth science with Canadians.

The award recognizes outstanding efforts to communicate and explain geoscience to the public through one or more of the following vehicles: public lectures, print or electronic media articles, school visits, elementary and secondary school educational materials, field trips, science fairs, and other public communications. The medal will be awarded annually unless no suitable candidate is nominated.

Guy Narbonne

Guy Narbonne

The 2017 Neale Medalist is Guy Narbonne, Queen’s University. His short citation reads:  “Through a unique combination of exceptional scientific discovery and commitment to public outreach, Professor Guy Narbonne, Queen’s University, has brought the excitement of understanding the evolution of life to all Canadians, most notably through his promotion of the world-class fossil site at Mistaken Point.”

Citation will be posted following GAC®-MAC Kingston 2017 being held May 15-17, 2017 in Kingston, ON.

Related Links:

Past Recipients

Nomination Form

Go to Top