J. Willis Ambrose Medal

The Ambrose medal, named after the first GAC® President, J. Willis Ambrose, is awarded to an individual for sustained dedicated service to the Canadian earth science community. This medal is awarded annually unless no suitable candidate is identified.

Stephen Johnston

The 2017 Ambrose Medalist is Stephen T. Johnston, University of Alberta. His short citation reads:  “For two decades of continued service representing the interests and advancement of Canadian earth sciences at every level on national and international committees, editorships and in the media.

Citation will be posted following GAC®-MAC Kingston 2017 being held May 15-17, 2017 in Kingston, ON.

Past Recipients

Nomination Form

Go to Top