Mary-Claire Ward Geoscience Award

The Mary-Claire Ward Geoscience Award Selection Committee is pleased to announce that the 2016 recipient is Holly Steenkamp of Laval University for her M.Sc. thesis “A tectonometamorphic history of the Tehery Lake–Wager Bay area, northwestern Hudson’s Bay, Nunavut”. Holly will attend the GAC-MAC in Kingston, Ontario, and received her award at that time.

The award, comprising $5,000 and a certificate, is given annually and honours the memory of Mary-Claire Ward who died in 2004. At the time of her death Mrs. Ward was the chair of the PDAC’s geoscience committee, chairman of Watts Griffis McOuat Ltd., and a past president of the Geological Association of Canada. She was a passionate advocate for the geosciences in Canada.

The intent of the award is to encourage and support a graduate student in Canada whose thesis contributes to our knowledge about the geological history of Canada. Mapping is a significant component of the winning thesis.

The award is administered by the Geological Association of Canada (GAC®), the Prospectors & Developers Association of Canada (PDAC), the National Geological Surveys Committee, the Canadian Geological Foundation, and Watts, Griffis and McOuat Ltd.

Application details are posted at and and the deadline for applications is December 15.

Holly Steenkamp, winner Mary-Claire Ward Geoscience Award 2017

About the award

Past Recipients

Nomination Form

Go to Top