Dave Elliott Best Paper Prize

The 2017 winners are Mirko van der Baan (University of Alberta), David W. Eaton (University of Calgary) and Giona Preisig (University of British Columbia, now at Université de Neuchâtel) for their paper “Stick-split mechanism for anthropogenic fluid-induced tensile rock failure”, published in Geology, v. 44, 503-506, 2016.

“This collaboration between authors from the Dept. of Physics at U of Alberta, the Dept. of Geoscience at U. Calgary and Geological Engineering at UBC documents episodic rather than continuous fracturing during hydraulic fracturing, analogous to stick-slip faulting in earthquakes. The paper, which documents how fast, and how episodically, joints propagate through rocks, has significant implications for hydraulic fracturing and means that current mathematical models may not accurately reflect nature.”

Past Recipients

Go to Top