Leopold Gelinas Medal

The Volcanology and Igneous Petrology Division of the Geological Association of Canada annually presents three medals for the most outstanding theses, written by Canadians or submitted to Canadian universities, which comprise material at least 50% related to volcanology and igneous petrology. A gold (plated) medal is awarded for the best Ph.D. thesis, a silver medal for the best M.Sc. thesis and an antique copper medal for the best B.Sc. thesis. Nominated theses are evaluated on the basis or originality, validity of concepts, organization and presentation of data, understanding of volcanology, and depth of research. Awards are not made if the panel of judges considers that there are no worthy nominations.

Recipients for 2017 are:

Gold (Best Ph.D. Thesis):

Donnelly Archibald

Donnelly Archibald, University of Adelaide, Australia

Thesis: The Stenian-Cambrian Tectonic Evolution of Central Madagascar

Supervisor: Alan Collins

Silver (Best M.Sc. Thesis):

Michael Reid

Michael Reid, St. Francis Xavier University, Antigonish, Nova Scotia

Thesis: Direct Observation of Crystallization in the System LiAlSi4O10-H2O: Implications for Late-stage Crystal Growth in Lithium-rich Pegmatites

Supervisor: Alan Anderson

Bronze (Best B.Sc. Thesis):

Amy Cleaver, Lakehead University, Thunder Bay, Ontario

Thesis: Mineralogy and Petrology of the Good Hope Carbonatite Occurrence, Marathon, ON

Supervisors: Dr. Shannon Zurevinski and Dr. Roger Mitchell

Past Recipients

Go to Top